RAM Management: IMdisk, Dataram RAMdisk, and Other Thoughts

For everything else...
grande

RAM Management: IMdisk, Dataram RAMdisk, and Other Thoughts

#1 Post by grande » Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:52 am

So I'm an amateur/pro technologist at times... always tinkering and I came across a technology that's already a few years old: using RAM as a virtual HDD/SDD but it's much faster.

My experience with MM/RomBot has been positive but loading screens can still be slow so I'm trying to understand what's still going on to make it so slow. Addons are apparently a slow down so I'll have to tinker with those some more to see what I can live without. Graphics settings and login location (house vs cities) seem to be another cause of the dreaded sluggish load screens. But more on the topic of IMdisk and Dataram.

IMdisk is free but seems more difficult to configure. Dataram is free up to 4GB which wouldn't work for ROM at about 12GG. I heard there's a GUI for IMdisk but can't find it. I was in a hurry to see this technology work so spent the $19 for the paid version of Dataram which goes up to 64GB ram (I have 32GB). I put all my ROM and MM files in there. Both seemed a bit snappier but there were also still delays. I've only monitored actual performance for about an hour or two so we'll see how it develops.

Problem with IMdisk for me was just getting it to save the image file at shutdown and then automatically recall it on startup. I followed the instructions here http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=356046 but it didn't work. There's actually some follow up on page 7 of that thread that may help me so I'll try it out again on my laptop and maybe save a little money later on. I was just in a hurry to get something working and to see the impact. Like I said, seems snappier but I need to watch it longer and so far the load screens are still quite dreadful so the dataram solution alone didn't seem to immediately give the relief I was expecting.