Page 1 of 1

How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:41 am
by Exempt
I'm curious if anyone has any idea how I could write a GUI overlay for a java game? Maybe some good resources on the subject or any useful libraries I could look into would be great.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:15 pm
by BlubBlab
I would say java and games are a really bad idea so far you don't intend to cross compile it to native code like LOL but if you so desire.
Google is your friend http://www.java-gaming.org/index.php?action=resources

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:05 pm
by Exempt
I want to make a overlay gui for a java game not write a java game. I need to write data to the game window without it interfering with mouse clicks and such to =\

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:58 pm
by BlubBlab
Exempt wrote:I want to make a overlay gui for a java game not write a java game. I need to write data to the game window without it interfering with mouse clicks and such to =\
You mean something like a remote control gui?
In theory you can use the memory functions but all your addresses will shift around like crazy , so you need every time the program starts a pattern search.
The other way would be changing the code of the game itself which could be far more simpler in case of Java, so you program your gui in java (new window) and bypass all functions by reverse engineering the game. There a lot of tools for this.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:05 pm
by Exempt
I'm hoping to find a less hacky way to do it. It's not really for a bot it's only information from logs as a overlay in game to assist with a few things.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:51 pm
by Administrator
Can't really comment on Java as it's not my thing, but the best way to accomplish an overlay would be a DLL injection targeting DirectX or OpenGL (whichever the game uses). It's... a large task if you're a beginner. I would recommend a starter kit that you can build on.

Just search "DirectX injection overlay" on Google to get started. A fairly-well-known hacker going by Azorbix created an excellent DirectX starter kit which I used for a few projects years ago.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:19 pm
by Exempt
I've used it before but I want to avoid injecting things since that breaks the rules sadly. hmm

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:45 pm
by BlubBlab
Exempt wrote:I've used it before but I want to avoid injecting things since that breaks the rules sadly. hmm
Okay I may jumped to conclusion but if we talk stuff like TS's Overwolf overlay I must say I only know this example and it definitely use injection because something like it isn't a feature from windows as an OS.

Or other way said I once had the Overwolf stuff inside a debugger without wanting it while TS ran in background :D

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:13 pm
by Exempt
Ever heard of any library that can handle partially transparent windows? I was thinking maybe it'd be possible to just have a gui as a separate program running in the foreground but it'd be transparent and adjust position based on the game client window cords. It'd also have to be possible to click thru it so that may be tricky...

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 8:27 am
by BlubBlab
Transparency isn't a problem http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/547 ... ansparency the problem is that the windows won't be in the foreground when an application runs in full-screen

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:57 pm
by BlubBlab
Hm it seems that Game Guard is gone I stopped with the game playing a few days ago but I can maybe play a bit with the memory now.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:01 pm
by Administrator
For which game is this? I seem to be missing something.

Re: How can I make a overlay?

Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:14 am
by BlubBlab
I'm sure I posted under Blade and Soul and this game I meant with Game Guard seems to begone it seems with the update on 10th Feb 2016 .
I didn't noticed immediately and I don't find references about it on in the internet at least I can read the process and I don't see Game Guard starting with the game.

What I don't can is attaching code to the process the game crash immediately when I use Cheat Engine and say show me all what access this memory section. So I need to make old school pointer search for it.