Using the for command

Runes of Magic/Radiant Arcana (http://www.runesofmagic.com)
noobbotter

Using the for command

#1 Post by noobbotter » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:21 am

I'm working on building a function to call to deposit certain items from my backpack into my bank. I'm not exactly certain how the "for" command works with using a table.

For example, I build a table with the names or IDs of the items I want to deposit into my bank, let's call this table "bankitems". How would I loop through that table checking my inventory and if it finds the item in inventory, it moves it to the bank? Would this do it?

Code: Select all

function move_to_bank()
	for i, item in pairs(bankitems) do 
		item.moveTo("bank")
	end
end
I'm not exactly sure what the "pairs" thing means, and I'm not very good with "for" functions. I basically want it to say "for each item in the "bankitems" table, do this with it"...

Thanks.

rock5

Re: Using the for command

#2 Post by rock5 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:58 am

There are basically 2 common forms of the for loop and you can use both to iterate through a table.

for i = 1, #bankitems do
   v = bankitems[i]   
end
In each iteration 'i' increments from 1 to the number of items in the list. 'v' will equal the item name or id in the list.

for i, v in pairs(bankitems) do
end
What 'in pairs' does is return the index and value of each item in the list. Note, the way these are written they do exactly the same thing. The i and v values would be the same.

Your example wouldn't work because 'item' would just be the name or id from the list. You can use it, though, to find and move the item. eg

itemObj = inventory:findItem(item)
if itemObj then
    itemObj:moveTo("bank")
end
Hope that helps.
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate