Can't use portals while game is minimized

Runes of Magic/Radiant Arcana (http://www.runesofmagic.com)
Post Reply
Message
Author
Baerxu
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:22 pm

Can't use portals while game is minimized

#1 Post by Baerxu » Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:45 pm

Hey there,

I got a minor problem concerning the bot. It seems the bot can't use portals with the game minimized. (Pressing the minimizing button in the upper right corner)
It does not differ whether I just create a waypoint which is *behind* the portal or I use rock's Portal Function.

MM says it found the portal but all I receive is a "The loading screen didn't appear..." message. When I maximize the game again, I kind of instantly enter the loading screen. So I conclude that my waypoints and stuff are fine, I just can't enter portals (of course they are fine, they work with the game maximized or in the background).

I can enter the portal with the game minimized if I don't use MM but just autorun towards it.

The situation in which that happens is the following:
Player talks to a NPC to get ported (works fine minimized) and then enter the portal. If you couldn't guess it by now: It's Cyclop's Lair :b

So what is the problem?
Thanks in advance :)

ps. I use the newest version of MM (no beta) + I use Memory Cleaner which cleans my cache every five minutes to provide a higher stability to the game... Actually I had the problem before I started using that software.

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#2 Post by rock5 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:20 pm

Tell me how do I get in and I'll check it out.
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

User avatar
lisa
Posts: 8332
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#3 Post by lisa » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:45 pm

there are prequests to get into that instance.

I don't recall which chars I did it on, pretty sure my ummm tanky char did it, maybe.

Found another WP posted on forum that used this to get into CL.

Code: Select all

	<!-- #  4 --><waypoint x="-32607" z="-14766" type="TRAVEL">
		yrest(1500);
		player:target_NPC("Kalice");
		sendMacro("ChoiceOption(1);");
		waitForLoadingScreen();
		yrest(3000);
	</waypoint>
	<!-- #  5 --><waypoint x="-38152" z="-9323" type="TRAVEL">	</waypoint>
	<!-- #  6 --><waypoint x="-38175" z="-9278">
		waitForLoadingScreen();
	</waypoint>
Remember no matter you do in life to always have a little fun while you are at it ;)

wiki here http://www.solarstrike.net/wiki/index.php?title=Manual

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#4 Post by rock5 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 12:49 am

Thanks for that.

It seems to work for me, entering and exiting, although I had a bit of trouble exiting and had to target the second object.

Code: Select all

Command> GoThroughPortal()
Targeting portal 111799, range 102.8099269371
Player address changed: 0x4519D200
Ranged skill found: MAGE_THUNDERSTORM
Command> GoThroughPortal(200,2)
Targeting portal 110578, range 156.95928689459
Player address changed: 0x463BA000
Ranged skill found: MAGE_THUNDERSTORM
What's this NPC you are talking about?
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Bill D Cat
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:13 pm
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#5 Post by Bill D Cat » Fri Nov 29, 2013 12:50 am

Kalice is an NPC near the entrance to the Cyclops region that will teleport you all the way up to the instance entrance (once you've cleared it once).

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#6 Post by rock5 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:03 am

Then maybe I should clear it once to see if teleporting there before going through the portal causes the problem. That's assuming I can clear it.:)
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

User avatar
lisa
Posts: 8332
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#7 Post by lisa » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:34 am

its a low lvl instance, you should have no issues clearing it.

Most do KS runs but a few do CL runs for gold, I always prefered KS.
Remember no matter you do in life to always have a little fun while you are at it ;)

wiki here http://www.solarstrike.net/wiki/index.php?title=Manual

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#8 Post by rock5 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:48 am

Ok. Tried it and it worked for me.

Code: Select all

Command> player:target_NPC("Kalice")
We try to find NPC Kalice:
We successfully target NPC Kalice and try to open the dialog window.
Command> RoMScript("ChoiceOption(1)") waitForLoadingScreen(10)
Player address changed: 0x480D0A00
Ranged skill found: MAGE_THUNDERSTORM
Command> GoThroughPortal()
Targeting portal 111799, range 102.8099269371
Player address changed: 0x33F05000
Ranged skill found: MAGE_THUNDERSTORM
This was done with the game minimized.

Do you have yrest between the teleport and going through the portal?
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

Baerxu
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#9 Post by Baerxu » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:16 am

I do not have a yrest between the teleport and entering the portal.
I have a *waitforloadingscreen* and after that he just walks straight to the portal. If my char can't enter the instance, he goes back in order to try again. That also won't work, so I don't see how a yrest would help because the portal has spawned then anyways.

From time to time I can enter the portal with the game minimized but that works only once. In round one, I can sometimes enter the instance with the game minimized but in round two, there is no chance for my char to get through that portal.

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#10 Post by rock5 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:50 am

I can't reproduce it. Here I went through 3 times with no problem. That includes going through the portal immediately after teleporting. If I can't reproduce it, I can't help you.

Code: Select all

Command> RoMScript('InviteByName("xxxx")')
Command> player:target_NPC("Kalice")
We try to find NPC Kalice:
We successfully target NPC Kalice and try to open the dialog window.
Command> RoMScript("ChoiceOption(1)") waitForLoadingScreen(10) GoThroughPortal()
Player address changed: 0x4B9F9600
Targeting portal 111799, range 102.84336839511
Player address changed: 0x3120A500
Command> RoMScript("LeaveParty()")  waitForLoadingScreen(20)
Player address changed: 0x48FD8C00

Command> RoMScript('InviteByName("xxxx")')
Command> player:target_NPC("Kalice")
We try to find NPC Kalice:
We successfully target NPC Kalice and try to open the dialog window.
Command> RoMScript("ChoiceOption(1)") waitForLoadingScreen(10) GoThroughPortal()
Player address changed: 0x4D891E00
Targeting portal 111799, range 102.8099269371
Player address changed: 0x2FECA500
Command> RoMScript("LeaveParty()")  waitForLoadingScreen(20)
Player address changed: 0x48FD5500

Command> RoMScript('InviteByName("xxxx")')
Command> player:target_NPC("Kalice")
We try to find NPC Kalice:
We successfully target NPC Kalice and try to open the dialog window.
Command> RoMScript("ChoiceOption(1)") waitForLoadingScreen(10) GoThroughPortal()
Player address changed: 0x4D89CD00
Targeting portal 111799, range 102.8099269371
Player address changed: 0x3120F500
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

Baerxu
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#11 Post by Baerxu » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:17 pm

Ye, I know.. It seems nobody can reproduce it. A friend of mine is using the exact same script and he doesn't have any problems while going through portals :(

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#12 Post by rock5 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 9:50 pm

Are you using the computer while the game is minimized? I seem to remember having an issue with a screen saver or power saving mode.
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

Baerxu
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Can't use portals while game is minimized

#13 Post by Baerxu » Sat Nov 30, 2013 4:56 am

Yes I do.
I use Firefox to browse a little. But I do not have any power savers, screen savers or stuff.
I even can play some games and the bot works. Well.. Most games minimize my RoM games and they stop working but some games seem to be fine with my games just running the in background.

And I want to add that I can minimize the game if I let the bot do something without portals like minigames. It's just those damn portals.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot] and 2 guests