Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

Discuss, ask for help, share ideas, give suggestions, read tutorials, and tell us about bugs you have found with MicroMacro in here.

Do not post RoM-Bot stuff here. There is a subforum for that.
Forum rules
This is a sub-forum for things specific to MicroMacro.

This is not the place to ask questions about the RoM bot, which uses MicroMacro. There is a difference.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
MiesterMan
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Between the Second and Third Circles of Hell

Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#1 Post by MiesterMan » Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:21 am

Ok, so, wasting several hours I don't have I wanted to write a script to print off all visible objects that I could find in Aion...

After several hours of widdling down the very simple code I'm left with this:

Code: Select all

mywin = findProcess("AION*");
win = openProcess(mywin);
mainOffset = getModuleAddress(mywin, "Game.dll");

-- local addr=0xFE611020;
-- local tmp = memoryReadInt(myProc,addr);
local name = memoryReadUString(win,0xFA820038);

if name then
	name = string.sub(name,2,34);
	printf("Address:  0x%x is %s\n",0xFE610E00,name);
end
Now, I'm looking at cheat engine at the memory addresses and they are VERY there. Using the script I posted earlier "printinfo" for aion the targeted npc's info and everything print out without a problem. I CANNOT for the life of me figure out why this script won't work.

error:

Code: Select all

WARNING: Failure reading memory from 0x28FA08 at 0x80000000 in memoryReadUString
(). Error code 299 (Only part of a ReadProcessMemory or WriteProcessMemory reque
st was completed.)
Please help :cry:

User avatar
lisa
Posts: 8332
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#2 Post by lisa » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:24 pm

It may or may not help but the address in the error message and the code don't match up.

code has
0xFA820038

error message has
0x28FA08
Remember no matter you do in life to always have a little fun while you are at it ;)

wiki here http://www.solarstrike.net/wiki/index.php?title=Manual

User avatar
MiesterMan
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Between the Second and Third Circles of Hell

Re: Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#3 Post by MiesterMan » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:39 pm

I definately did notice that. It further makes the error message even more erroneous. There is absolutely no sense to why I am getting these error messages.

The bigger mess is that I don't get them when running my printinfo script that I posted earlier which is looking at the exact same information. The only difference is that the address is built from a combination of offsets.

I want to say that this has something to do with big numbers but I haven't been able to figure out how that make sense.

User avatar
lisa
Posts: 8332
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#4 Post by lisa » Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:55 pm

maybe you are using the wrong memory function

try
memoryReadString

instead of
memoryReadUString
Remember no matter you do in life to always have a little fun while you are at it ;)

wiki here http://www.solarstrike.net/wiki/index.php?title=Manual

User avatar
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 5307
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:21 pm

Re: Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#5 Post by Administrator » Wed May 02, 2012 12:32 pm

lisa wrote:It may or may not help but the address in the error message and the code don't match up.

code has
0xFA820038

error message has
0x28FA08
0x28FA08 is the handle of the process. It is attempting to read the address 0x80000000 within that process. Why? I don't know. Make sure that all variables (mywin, win, etc.) are correct by printing or logging them. Are you even using 'mainOffset' for anything?

User avatar
MiesterMan
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Between the Second and Third Circles of Hell

Re: Memory Read Error... Cannot explain

#6 Post by MiesterMan » Sun May 06, 2012 7:45 am

No, was going directly to the address. This is the issue I'm having when I want to test using the addresses.

I guess I COULD mess with an extra calculation but I'm not sure that will help. What I was trying to do was find a sampling of usable objects in the range with these scan but this error was preventing me from directly referencing them.

Thank you for your replies and sorry for the delayed response, been busy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 10 guests